South Rift Region

About NCCK South Rift Region

The National Council of Churches of Kenya started its operations in South Rift region in 1996. The Region constitutes the following 6 counties: Samburu, Baringo, Nakuru, Kericho, Bomet and Narok. As such the region covers the Arid and Semi arid lands (ASAL) of Narok, Samburu, Baringo as well as the Kenyan highland areas of Nakuru, Kericho and Bomet.The backbone of the livelihoods of people in this region is agriculture with the ASAL areas depending on livestock production.

The region is managed through a Regional Conference which is the supreme organ, while the Regional Committee and the Regional officials constitute the Board of Management guided by the strategic plan of NCCK.

Physical presence

The regional office in is Nakuru town located along Oginga Odinga road section 58 block No. 15 plot No. 13.

Member Churches in the Region

The region has the following member churches and institutions:

  1. African Christian Church and Schools (ACC&S)
  2. African Israel Nineveh Church (AINC)
  3. Anglican Church of Kenya (ACK)
  4. East African Yearly Meeting of Friends (Quakers).
  5. Lyahuka Church of East Africa
  6. Kenya Evangelical Lutheran Church
  7. Pentecostal Evangelistic Fellowship of Africa (PEFA).
  8. Methodist Church of Kenya
  9. Reformed Church of East Africa (RCEA)
  10. Africa Independent  Pentecostal Church of Africa(AIPCA)
  11. Presbyterian Church of East Africa (PCEA)
  12. Maranatha Mission of Kenya
  13. Salvation Army
  14. African Brotherhood Church
  15. Scriptural Holiness Mission
  16. Kenya Assemblies of God (KAG)
  17. Church of God in East Africa
  18. Full Gospel Churches of Kenya

The fraternal associates operating in the region include the Fellowship of Christian Unions (FOCUS) and World Vision.  The Associate members are the Bible society of Kenya and the Kenya Students Christian Fellowship (KSCF).

Leave a Reply